Sorry I hadn’t read the novels I figured they were just supplementary material sorry. Thank you for answering my question btw!

[[ I wouldn’t count them as supplementary material. They have a lot of information which clears up questions within the manga about the past. I highly recommend reading both of Itachi’s novels. They truly highlight how awful the situation for the Uchiha was, and how Itachi could ultimately do very little to stop it. ]]

Why do you think the villagers hated naruto? It makes sense thematically. He has a monster that killed many people inside him. And having a demon in a child is very likely to make people afraid of him. But given his parents it makes no sense. Both Kushina and Minato were well liked, respected ninjas. Minato was the HOKAGE. Why was no one sympathetic towards him for having to bear the burden of the nine tails inside him? Did Kishimoto just not plan out his storyline?

[[ Um.

The novels say so.

Danzo Shimura spread the information that Naruto was the Kyuubi and he was dangerous. He wanted them to be afraid of Naruto so Danzo could kill him and be lauded as a hero.

Very few people knew that he was Minato and Kushina’s son. This was done on purpose, to prevent people coming after him for being the Fourth’s son. 

It’s less about “planned storyline” and more that the characters within the series purposely hid information. People in large masses are easy to scare. 

It wasn’t well known public knowledge that the Kyuubi was the Leaf’s weapon. This isn’t Kumogakure. It was a monster what hailed from who know where to them, and this kid has it contained inside of him, and the trauma of the village being attacked makes them distrust and mistreat Naruto.

It it still shitty? Yeah. But it’s not bad writing. Humans can be cruel creatures. ]]

Because of the already strong anti uchiha sentiment I really wouldn’t be surprised if some villagers still felt that sasuke at his young age was still a threat. However by the time the show begins everyone at the school loves and admires sasuke so it makes me wonder if everyone just decided to sweep everything under the rug and stop acknowledging what happened. (Ie not tell their kids) but yeah sasuke was probably still under surveillance. Hiruzen clearly isn’t above doing that at all.

[[ Well, to be fair, I don’t think it was the villagers who thought Sasuke was a threat. And I’d extend that to the council, except for Danzo. If it was up to Danzo, he’d kill Sasuke too. He just waited until he could kill Sasuke and be “justified” in doing so. 

As long as Sasuke never actually found out the truth about the clan (eg, had a reason to mistrust/”betray” the village), he was fine.

For the kids, I’m sure a lot of them were never told. Which of course is confusing, like…it’s one of the founding clans of Konoha. Killed overnight. Gone. Except for one kid. You’re telling me now is when the adults decide to be absolutely tight lipped?

Plus there were other children. Children who were likely genin or chuunin, or even still in the Academy. You’re telling me these kids didn’t have friends, that their absence wasn’t noted in class? That’s BS, that’s impossible. I think I remember a panel of a couple of kids discussing it between themselves, but apparently it didn’t spread. It would have naturally spread. There’s no reason for Sasuke’s classmates to not know that he’s been alone since he was seven. ]]