‘Even if he chose to stand with his clan, he simply would’ve been killed along with the rest of them. The massacre would have happened one way or another, Itachi’s cooperation be damned’. Please, read this again and just… think, ok? It’s just crazy that someone can actually think like this. No, it wouldn’t happen. You’re saying that murder of innocent people was impossible to prevent. Danzo is evil, Hiruzen is weak, and Itachi hated Uchihas. Take one of this out and massacre wouldn’t happen

[[ Buddy, you’re really killing yourself with the idea that if you took out Itachi the massacre wouldn’t have happened. Itachi was a really convenient scapegoat

None of my arguments are in support of the massacre, and they never will be. The Uchiha did not deserve to be sequestered to a corner of the village, nor monitored, nor killed. I’m simply not foolish enough to believe the massacre was preventable by one single factor. Itachi was a child the top brass used to get away with genocide, had Itachi not existed Danzo simply would’ve carried out the genocide with his own ANBU/ROOT members after convincing the village they were ‘dangerous’ and a problem that needed ‘solving’. 

Stop blaming a child for the actions of adults. ]]

‘If it wasn’t Itachi who started it, it would’ve been the ANBU under Hiruzen and Danzo’s command’. They wouldn’t be able to kill hundreds of people, half of them civilians without directly saying ‘I can kill any of you and there’s nothing you can do’. Do you think many people would like that? It’s not just one shinobi they got rid of, it’s entire clan. Other shinobis and civialians aren’t mindless idiots you think they are. Just how blind you have to be to say there was no choice? You’re scary.

[[ Did you just…miss the point? You really have no reading comprehension do  you? My entire point is that if they hadn’t convinced Itachi to enact out the massacre (which is actually a government sanctioned genocide), they would’ve gotten the ANBU to do it. 

The genocide was going to happen whether Itachi agreed to do it himself or not. Danzo wanted the Uchiha dead, and his options were either convince Itachi to do it, or to do it himself with the men under his command.

I said before– the genocide is BS. The Uchiha didn’t deserve it, not one bit. But acting as if Itachi alone could’ve prevented it is absolute utter bullshit and places all of the blame on a thirteen year old boy who’s PTSD is being used against him, instead of the greedy adults in power who have influence over him.

 Itachi did not hate the Uchiha like you think he did. He was jaded over the more loud clan members who wanted justice. He thought their methods were wrong but never thought that killing them was the answer. Danzo convinced him that they would spark the flames of war, something Itachi was already afraid of to begin with. 

Stop blaming a child for something adults are responsible for. ]]

Massacre was out of Itachi’s control? You pro-itachis go far to justify genocide. Sarutobi was alive, wasn’t he? And killing entire clan is sort of… not smth Danzo would be able to do and then hide it? it’s Itachi who made it possible. And the worst isn’t even that he betrayed his family. The worst is that he went and brutally slaughtered them at night without giving them any chance to defend themselves. He’s a coward. There’s hundreds of things that he could’ve done, but he chose mass murder

[[ LOL

Alright, let’s destroy you and any future people who still think it’s ok to be anti-Itachi as if he alone caused the massacre. I’m tired of y’all clogging the Itachi tag with your nonsense opinions. 

First things first: The massacre was out of Itachi’s control =/= the massacre was okay and a good thing.

You don’t even have basic reading comprehension. I hate the massacre, it’s awful, but I’m not so much of an idiot I think it’s entirely Itachi’s fault. You’re blaming a thirteen year old who had his fears used against him and was used as a scapegoat so the village could get away with murdering one of its founding clans. Itachi is not at fault for the massacre, he was a pawn. Just as much a victim of Danzo and Hiruzen. 

Sarutobi was alive, wasn’t he?

You poor, poor soul. You think he would’ve helped? Do you really trust Hiruzen that much? Let’s go over a list of things Hiruzen has done that are canon.

Your Precious Angel Sarutobi Hiruzen…

  • Agreed to Danzo’s idea of sequestering the clan into its own district, despite there being no existing evidence that the Uchiha clan were responsible for the Kyuubi Attack, other than an old tale about Madara. 
  • Owns and Maintains the ANBU squad that checks the surveillance cameras inside the Uchiha District 24/7. These cameras have been in place since the district was built.
  • Approved a 30% budget cut to the Police Force despite knowing full well Danzo was using the cut as a method to piss the Uchiha off and ‘prove’ they were dangerous and needed to be eradicated.
  • Allows Danzo to run free and without any check. The worst Hiruzen does is verbally scold him twice before the massacre. 
  • Knows full well that Danzo absolutely hates the Uchiha clan, yet again…takes no actual action to prevent him from messing with them.
  • Refuses to meet with the Uchiha for a full year after Shisui’s death. This is despite claiming that he doesn’t want them to die and they are friends from the previous war. He refutes any actual attempt at negotiation.
  • Is aware of the fact Danzo wants to kill them. This is in a direct manga flashback. Hiruzen ended up okaying the massacre. 
  • Only demotes Dnazo and disbands ROOT, but knows, and verbally admits, that Danzo will find a way to continue his work even if not officially, and he is going to do nothing else about it, despite being acting Hokage.
  • Depends on Itachi and Shisui alone to “fix” the Uchiha and make them complacent in their position and the rights they are not allowed, so that he does not have to lift a finger and actually work. He trusted teenagers…. to do the negotiations and hard work he as an adult, and as a leader of a village, to do.

And killing entire clan is sort of… not smth Danzo would be able to do and then hide it?

Do you honestly think Danzo was even attempting to hide it? It works in Danzo’s favor if the entire village thinks the Uchiha are dangerous. He already has a lot of the public believing that the Uchiha are at fault. Itachi is bullied in school because he’s an Uchiha. He’s discriminated when he works in ANBU because one of them lost his sister to the Kyuubi, and somehow it’s Itachi’s– and the entire Uchiha clan’s fault. Danzo wants this kind of outcry to be public, he wants to be lauded as a hero for exterminating the Uchiha. He got the best he could, the clan is gone and no-one in the public thinks negatively of him. Danzo is the same man who let out the secret that Naruto was the Jinchuuriki, purely so people would hate and fear him and he could be considered a savior for killing Naruto in the future.

And the worst isn’t even that he betrayed his family. The worst is that he went and brutally slaughtered them at night without giving them any chance to defend themselves. He’s a coward.

You really are, just…missing the whole point, aren’t you? The massacre was scheduled and orchestrated. If it wasn’t Itachi who started it, it would’ve been the ANBU under Hiruzen and Danzo’s command. 

There’s hundreds of things that he could’ve done, but he chose mass murder

See, this is what I hate about you anti Itachi people. You always act as if Itachi acted completely on his own, independent of other people’s pressure and manipulation. As if he just up and one day said “yeah, i’ll kill them that’s the only option lol” and planned the whole thing himself.

Danzo has been manipulating Itachi Uchiha since he was seven years old.

Itachi has had an Aburame stalking him since he graduated the Academy and met Danzo. Danzo wanted Itachi specifically. An Uchiha, a clan he hates, but Itachi showed so much skill and promise that Danzo would much rather have that skill be working under his name. 

Danzo does everything in his power to speed up the process to get Itachi into his clutches. Itachi’s sensei won’t allow him to enter the Chuunin exams? Go to Hiruzen and speak harshly about the sensei, and convince Hiruzen to not only let Itachi take the exams– but to take them alone.

Uchiha not allowed in ANBU? Well, strike that for this one particular Uchiha. Danzo wants him badly.

Age restriction to join ANBU? Come on Hiruzen please just lower it by one year I really need this Uchiha to be working under me

Danzo knew about Itachi’s fear of mass fighting and bloodshed. He used it to his advantage, told Itachi the safer option was for himself to murder the clan as opposed to a fight breaking out. The fighting would break outside the clan, spill into the streets…enemy nations would see this and seize the opportunity to attack the Leaf…and Itachi would bear witness to the bloody scene he saw when he was four years old. 

Itachi wants more than anything to prevent mass fighting, so to him, scared as he is, it sounds better to be known as the rogue Uchiha who killed his clan, rather than the rest of the village being scared that they’re next. Is it logical? No! But if you actually cared for one second and stepped into his shoes and thought about it from his point of view, you could see how he would come to that conclusion. 

So, let’s recap.

  • Danzo has been having one of his ROOT members tail Itachi since he was seven.
  • Danzo has pushed for Itachi to take the Chuunin exams….alone.
  • Danzo has pushed for Itachi to be made an exception into the ANBU role, and for the age restriction to be pulled down a year.Danzo has pressed Itachi for information from the clan meetings. When Itachi refuses, he murders an Uchiha and has two ROOT members take turn impersonating him and attending meetings. 
  • Danzo has Shisui murdered, because Shisui’s plan of using KotoAmatsukami would have actually worked.
  • Danzo preys upon Itachi’s fear of a war that involves the whole of the village and other villages, to convince Itachi that the only viable solution is for Itachi to kill them so the other clans do not grow suspicious or weary.

Itachi did not choose mass murder. Itachi was manipulated into the ‘choice’ because he was a child who had fears and vulnerabilities that were preyed on. There are people with more power and influence than Itachi and he was merely a victim of them. 

Even if he chose to stand with his clan, he simply would’ve been killed along with the rest of them. The massacre would have happened one way or another, Itachi’s cooperation be damned. 

So again….the massacre was out of Itachi’s control.

**And a helpful edit by my friend Tai, the village got away with the Uchiha Clan Genocide because publicly, it’s considered it’s Itachi’s fault. A person killing their own family is a massacre, another system enacting a family wipe is a genocide.  ]]

was itachi there to see sasuke walk for the first time?

[[ That’s a good question! He may have been, and he may have not been. Something like this is actually not answered in the novels, so it’s up for reader interpretation.

Personally, I think Itachi might not have been. What we do know from the novels is that Itachi dedicated his free time to training. Sasuke was also incredibly important but by training, he was getting stronger in his goal of protecting Sasuke, therefore, it was for Sasuke. So training, especially when Shisui came into the picture, generally came above Sasuke, purely because in the end it was for his little brother. He may have easily missed some developmental milestones. 

The novel mentions things like Sasuke slowly learning to talk, not that it’s the first time Itachi’s ever heard him speak, etc. Mikoto most likely took primary care of Sasuke (as is fit), with Itachi as secondary care (when Mikoto is out), and Fugaku as tertiary (his job has him out more, he’s also the Captain of the Force and Clan Leader so he has even less time on his hands.) Mikoto has the most free time (time spent in their house) as she is a house-wife. 

I don’t think Itachi would’ve been too bothered by missing him walking for the very first time, he’d be glad his brother achieved something. Sasuke could drool all over his shirt and he’d be proud. ]]

Who do you think gets more hate, Itachi or Sasuke?

[[ Sasuke. Definitely Sasuke. Overall, Sasuke gets more hate for his actions and behavior while most people usually understand Itachi was used (or at the base level, immediately label him as a good guy post his death).

Then to add ontop of the pile, you have some (very foolish) people who are pro Sasuke  but anti-Itachi.

It’s ok to be critical of Itachi with his decisions regarding Sasuke and the night of the massacre. Because Itachi himself realizes that was wrong and makes no excuses. It’s not ok to pretend Itachi is some villain or should always be regarded as one. It ignores that he was a victim of Konoha’s system and was manipulated since he was 7. 

ksjdflkj anyways. It’s wrong to be anti-both, but summing up all available parts of fandom, Sasuke definitely gets more hate thrown his way. ]]

3 19

Let’s Get Salty On Munday! (Tuesday Edition)

3) Why did you leave your last fandom?

[[ Inactivity all around, the media it was based on was extremely dead, the fandom was not that large to begin with in the first place, and infighting between players had caused severely strict groups who would only play with each other. (I did not want to play with a lot of them, either.) ]]

19) What’s the worst thing that has happened to you in the rping community (Within an ooc situation)?

[[ Within an OOC situation…. probably the time someone used their character as a means to project their own serious issues onto my character. Their character was severely depressed, suicidal, and extremely manipulative, and because this person could not separate themselves from the character, their teenage character never recovered (not even a little bit) which caused my adult character to emotionally burn out. Player refused to admit it was their fault, nor get the serious help they clearly needed. ]]