[[ I’d like to discuss several things about Sasuke’s novel but one currently presses my mind: Naruto’s mentioning of Itachi after the war. 

Naruto offered Itachi’s name as a hero who helped save Konoha. I will type word for word the excerpt right now. I will bold what I feel is important but all the text is otherwise exactly the same.

“Naruto was telling people that after he was brought back with the Edotensei, Itachi had helped them for the sake of the world. Naruto would have known about the coup d’état, but without touching on that, he simply offered up Itachi’s name as one of the ninja who had helped him out in the Great War.

Sasuke didn’t expect that this would make everyone simply accept it, but there was no one who doubted Naruto. Even if there had been, Naruto would no doubt have not given up, but simply continued to tell his story. Putting aside the question of whether Itachi would have wanted it, perhaps the day would come when the feeling that Itachi had some kind of reason for what he did would sprout in Konoha.”

So, to summarize.
1) Naruto publicly listed Itachi as a hero during the war.
2) No one fought him on this, they simply accepted it.
3) HAD someone doubted him he would’ve just kept pressing the story.

This just feels…weird, to me? Without explaining the coup and the reason behind the massacre, or essentially “here’s why Itachi isn’t actually a genocidal mass murderer”, no one has any reason to believe Itachi would willingly help the village. But Naruto’s word is…law? He said it therefore it must certainly be true (which, technically it is but the fact no one questioned it is off-putting.)

Secondly, Itachi…didn’t want it. He really didn’t want his name passed around as a hero, that’s why he asked Naruto to remain mum on the details of the coup and to save Sasuke from scrutiny and punishment in his stead. Itachi wanted Sasuke to be the hero, not him. 

It creates this weird divide. Suddenly, all public opinion on Itachi is…positive? This man who’s been known for the murder of his clan, this member of Akatsuki, who attacked the village and nearly killed everyone in it (even if Itachi was dying by Sasuke at this time, he was still a member of Akatsuki. A rule of association.)

There wasn’t any real reason to mention Itachi to the public, none at all. And yet this creates a divide of positive public opinion of Itachi and negative opinion on Sasuke. 

Mass Genocidal Itachi saves the world by helping during the war.

“Crazy Psychotic” Sasuke causes a world war and wants to kill everyone. 

Rrrghh. ]]

Is it me or do lots of people seem to think that because since Itachi is a good liar and can be manipulative, seems to make people believe that it’s impossible for someone like him to be manipulated and lied at too even though he very much has been?

[[ I need to make a couple of disclaimers before I tackle this question, because this sort “Itachi cannot be manipulated” sentiment usually comes from very specific circles. Firstly, I’m not pro-ending. I have a lot of issues with the main Naruto ending, but I do consider it as canon because it honestly is canon. Nothing I can say can change that. 

Now.. this sort of statement towards Itachi mostly seems to stem from anti-ending blogs. You’ll see it a lot, “Itachi is just a Leaf supporter” “Itachi is an unrepentant mass murderer” (I have literally seen this one), “Itachi excuses the village’s system”, “Itachi being good is just a bad plot twist”, “Itachi should’ve stayed a villain” “Itachi is just as bad as Tobirama”, etc. 

I’ve spoken about this before, but, when dealing with Itachi, most of the people who deal with Itachi (myself included in the past) have this mindset of treating him like an adult in all situations. And by adult, I mean “he is an adult therefore all his decisions are his own and nothing and no one else influenced him.” Essentially, the fact that Itachi was very intelligent and skilled somehow makes him immune to manipulation and being used. Which is just, as a whole, very very wrong. 

I know there’s a term for this somewhere. I can’t figure out what it is, but I will someday. Usually the biggest argument is the massacre. Itachi was 13 years old. And sometimes they’ll argue back, well in-universe this is considered an adult, especially considering his rank as an ANBU. And sure, we can run with that for in-universe context, but then they fail to apply the same context to every other person. Suddenly, everyone else is children, but Itachi’s some adult and has to bear the full responsibility of his actions. People like Danzo, Hiruzen, and Fugaku to some extent get away scott free when it comes to how they shaped Itachi. Danzo and Hiruzen get their own set of complaints, but none of how they used Itachi. That never gets rightly placed on them. 

I also think most of the blogs who do this haven’t read Shinden. Which I may reiterate, is also canon material. Kishi did sanction these novels, even though he didn’t personally pen them himself. May I say again, canon is canon whether you like it or not. It’s something that can be difficult to accept for some, but you’ll feel a whole lot better when you do. You don’t have to like it, and you can criticize it, but that doesn’t change what actually happened. 

The novel is like a full explanation of how Itachi was manipulated. This fear of seeing that bloody battlefield is a recurring theme for Itachi. He doesn’t want to see that fighting again. He gets reminded by Danzo if he doesn’t take this very specific path, then actual fighting will break out and it will escalate. The threat of the Uchiha V Village situation escalating is one that’s always on his mind. Sasuke is used against him near the end. 

Itachi is very much skewed against his clan early on, as well. There was very much the potential for Itachi to see the racism against his clan for what it is– racism. But he always found ways to excuse what personally happened to him. Kids bother him? They’re just kids. Anbu angry that the Kyuubi killed his sister and is therefore the fault of all the Uchiha? Ehh, he’s just jealous I’m the youngest ANBU. It…honestly baffled me how Itachi could hear that man say that and just shrug it off. Agreeing to keep the surveillance a secret because it would make his clan angry (as it should). Because if they find out they’ll get mad and push their plans or attack now, and in Itachi’s mind  attack = bloody  battlefield. He’s literally 5 when the compound is built. It doesn’t matter how smart he thinks he is, his thinking is that of a child. Children will find positives. Oh, we’re being stuffed together at the end of the village? Why be mad, we can all be a family together and I can raise Sasuke somewhere quietly. Also look! They’re building our homes first, how can we be mad?

Not only that, but I think these people ignore things Itachi said in the manga, too. Sometimes I think they skipped the entire fight vs Kabuto. Itachi touches on clan pride, Itachi readily admits the village system has issues. The only thing I disagree with is that it has to be left to the younger people to fix, but I digress. He’s not much of a revolution person himself. 

Adding, Shisui died. Shisui was the person Itachi trusted the most and looked up to the most. Itachi felt terrible, he felt alone, and he was desperate for help. It is SO much easier to use Itachi and sway him into a decision after the person he was taking advice from is gone. Itachi wasn’t the brains behind stopping the massacre, Shisui was. And now Shisui’s gone, and he has no idea what to do. 

Beh. Anyways, my main point is that Itachi was used and manipulated, even if he doesn’t ~act~ like people think a normal manipulation victim should. That’s part of manipulation, of the victim not noticing or not being able to admit it. It’s how the abusers get away with it. So by ignoring that pretending this was literally all Itachi’s fault, you’re letting his abusers get away with it.

Now…..I’m not saying Itachi is except from any criticism period. Not at all. There’s definitely a lot to be discussed. He definitely has flaws. But there’s a point between valid criticism and blind hate and refusal to acknowledge that Itachi was used. Just as much as Sasuke was used.

Serena also wrote a long post about this, which I suggest reading. ]]