not-so-terrible:

tacheeucheehoo:

not-so-terrible:

tacheeucheehoo:

SCREAMS

PG 133: 

Five months since he became a chunin. 

Concerned about Itachi never taking a proper day off, the village ordered him to take a longish break of a week. They were going to force him to rest. His father nodded at this order, noting the timing was right, and told him to also take a break from training with Shisui that week.

Given that Itachi had no idea what to do with his time other than missions and training, he couldn’t stop feeling like he had suddenly been set adrift in a calm sea. He tried to sleep all day, but his body, used to missions, woke him up before the crows started cawing in the morning.

His mission stats make it even sadder because its so true

Itachi: 340 missions in 6 years = 57 missions a year, the highest average (Kakashi and Yamato come close with their overworked ninja brains too)

For comparison:

Kisame has up to three times as much field experience (15+ years) but has done 8 less missions. And most of the Rookie 9 seem do to about 10-20 missions a year

#also interestingly he has no A ranks#and the only S rank is probably the uchiha massacre

Terrible. There was at least half a year he was only doing D ranked missions as well. Like he only gets higher ranked missions when /alone/ but you still wouldn’t really give an A rank to a solo. 

Like, his first team he was with for like… half a year to a year before one died and the other became a tea girl did probably D and C ranked missions. Then his next team was really only D ranked. 

  • Itachi had completed 340 official missions in total: 53 D-rank, 152 C-rank, 134 B-rank, 0 A-rank and 1 S-rank.

Like this isn’t really a matter of like 57 missions each year. And it’s probably not even six years because Anbu Missions are Anbu Missions. 

Like, Itachi probably did 100 missions easily in a year. This is the kid who did an exam that takes five days in less than six hours. 

Itachi you mess. Like, Itachi was literally just CONSTANTLY given work because he wanted it and could do it… 

No wonder he was ordered to take a nap. 

I’m trying to work out whether their mission count includes their ANBU ones, since all the ANBU characters do have significantly more but it would also make sense for them not to be listed

I could definitely see him going through hundreds of missions. How he fits in training is a wonder, let alone sleep

the-hidden-will:

Nothing makes me more mad than when people say “Shisui took the easy way out”.

In the Itachi Shinden novel (which the damn anime did not cover well enough), Shisui was poisoned by Sugaru’s (a subordinate of Danzo’s) deadly miniscule insects prior to meeting up with Itachi at the river. Even Shisui said himself that he immediately began feeling its effects, and that he wasn’t going to last long. Shortly after, Danzo stole one of Shisui’s eyes. 

So let’s get this right. Shisui was dying because he was poisoned. The anime did not even mention this. Shisui quickly realized that Danzo was going to steal his sharingan, so he fled to Itachi, where he gave his remaining eye to Itachi. Shisui chose to die so that the village would not use his powers against his clan or for any evil for that matter. 

Shisui did not take the easy way out. 

This man loved his clan and the village more than anything else.

amazingbeautifulmoonbeams replied to your photo “((boruto is the protagonist of his own story. I don’t think it would…”

Can sasuke die for his own story and naruto die for his son’t story. As a matter of fact does anyone need to die for boruto to actually become an interesting character and gain motivation, my question was asking for a solid reason why would such an important character like sasuke who we knew and followed his story for 15 years would die for a character like boruto I wouldn’t mind if he died protecting the village, or defending sarada or naruto but not for boruto to grow

[[ Listen, I don’t know why you asked me this question if you had intended for me to agree with you. I don’t, and you disagree and that’s fine, and there’s no reason for us to argue. I have my opinion, and you have yours, but I’ll tackle it one last time.

You also added “That’s his father’s job”, IE, it’s Naruto’s job to die for Boruto. I again, disagree. Boruto’s primary motivation is not his Father. Boruto’s primary motivation is Sasuke. He wants to be like Sasuke, he wants to follow Sasuke’s path, he sees Sasuke as admirable He doesn’t want to be the Hokage, he wants to be someone who supports the Hokage. 

“I wouldn’t mind if he [Sasuke] died protecting the village.”

Why? The village hasn’t done anything worthy of Sasuke actually dying for it, it’s amazing he protects it. And he protects it less because he cares about its people or its system, but because Naruto beat him into it and any danger that befalls the village will affect Naruto. 

Sasuke and Boruto benefit from each other’s company. This is solid canon, Sasuke likes having his student around, and we’re only currently in chapter 11 of what is presumably a long manga  and already Sasuke and Boruto collectively know important plot points that Naruto doesn’t. Naruto currently doesn’t fit into the equation. 

I would much rather Sasuke die to a) be free from the village at last, and b) to give Boruto further motivation in his goals. Wearing Sasuke’s clothing is telling

Like Katie said, it’s essentially putting Sasuke out of his misery. At least he will have died for someone who is good for him. 

Also, in response to your comment about “we knew and followed his story for fifteen years”, …so? It’s not Sasuke’s story, it’s Boruto’s. This is told in the first two chapters. Sasuke is a part of it, but he’s not the protagonist. Naruto isn’t the protagonist. People’s stories come to an end at some point. Boruto isn’t about Sasuke or Naruto, it’s about Boruto. ]]

Do you think kishimoto will kill sasuke in boruto, sasuke went through alot, and itachi sacrificed plenty to save him, killing him would just be stupid

[[ I don’t agree that it’s stupid to kill Sasuke. 

From what I can tell from the sudden-flash-forward in the very first chapter of Boruto, Sasuke will die for his beliefs and he will motivate Boruto to move on and fight stronger. 

Look at Boruto in the first chapter. 

He is wearing Sasuke’s cloak, he has Sasuke’s sword, and he is wearing Sasuke’s brown boots. Even a few pages later he is wearing the headband that Sasuke originally gave him in the Boruto movie.

(Proof the cloak/boots/sword originally belong to Sasuke.)

Granted, there’s another option here which is just “really dedicated cosplay” and we all know that Boruto is inspired by Sasuke, but I’ve seen no hints he’s so inspired like Sasuke that he would imitate his style of dress. Boruto is very much okay with wearing his own clothing right now. This leads me personally to believe that Boruto took Sasuke’s clothes upon his death to honor him, or Sasuke himself told him to take his possessions.

Yeah, Sasuke’s  been through a lot. That’s true. But he’s not technically “free” in that village. He never got reparations for his clan, the shinobi system never changed, etc. Also why should he stay alive just because other people fought to keep him alive? That’s not really fair on him. Yeah, Itachi did a lot to keep him alive but that doesn’t mean Sasuke has to. Sasuke should be living for his own sake, not someone else’s. I find it perfectly acceptable for Sasuke to die for a cause he legitimately supports, IE Boruto. Their dynamic is wonderful, they communicate, and are good for each other. 

Sasuke will be free of the village in death, and he will have passed on his motivation and possessions to someone he trusts and believes in.

Let him die peacefully. ]]

sasukerevolution:

I just saw a post that basically said Sasuke would be super protective of Sarada’s virginity and prior to that I’ve seen posts where he cares about her skirt length or where he doesn’t want other characters swearing/talking about sex in front of her and I have some thoughts.

1) Sarada is like twelve she probably knows what sex is.

2) You don’t just disappear from someone’s life for twelve years and then start bossing her around when you get back.

3) If he didn’t figure it out on his own he probably learned this stuff from Orochimaru. Like where is he supposed to pick up on these standards; his parents died when he was seven and he’s super oblivious. Other characters you can make a case for but Sasuke wouldn’t find “ready at this age to learn this” stuff anything but arbitrary.

4) Kids hear swearing all the time. Come on.

5) It’s not really “cute” or anything anyway. Putting the autonomy of girls in the hands of their fathers is creepy and it’s a character flaw to be controlling, not something endearing.

6) This one is more of a headcanon, but if Sasuke were actually present he’d be the kind of Dad to explain death from an early age and answer questions as soon as he’s asked them. His life was ruined because he was presumed too young to understand anything; he’s not going to do the same thing to his child.

Bottom line is he probably doesn’t care. Thanks.

Itachi would have an arranged marriage with a high ranking female of the Uchiha Clan, which are all a product of incest, along with the Hyuga and other clans. …And the human race is also a product of incest.. just putting that out there.

[[ Are you trying to justify Itachi/fem!Sasuke because I do not see your point. I am not even against that pairing, I just do not see it happening in that situation. 

Not all humans are products of incest, that requires believing in Adam and Eve as the “first humans”, which is flat out wrong. We are products of evolution over many years. Some families in history choose to breed closely under the idea of “protecting” or “preserving” a bloodline. This is how a “royal line” or a “clan” is made.

When talking about Naruto, all clans that produce the kekke genkai in offspring would require a degree of incest to maintain a populace of clan members as generations pass. There are multiple clans in Naruto, so you cannot escape the practice of incest. However, I do not believe the degree of incest within the Uchiha clan is as close as marrying brothers and sisters, mothers and sons, or fathers and daughters off. There is a canon instance of a clan member and a non-clan member producing offspring prior to the manga’s ending. Izumi’s Father was not a member of the Uchiha clan, yet Izumi was undoubtedly an Uchiha and was able to produce the Uchiha clan’s Kekke Genkai.

I disagree that Itachi would have an arranged marriage with a “high ranking” member of the Uchiha clan. They are NOT that serious of a clan regarding their genetics. They were a group of families. There’s no system of elders, Fugaku was top brass and didn’t answer to anyone but his people’s pressure, not anyone else above him. They don’t have a system like the Hyuuga does. 

Your asks makes sense for very serious clans like the Hyuuga, but not the Uchiha. The Uchiha would’ve likely over time bred out their own trait, and I’m not saying this is a bad thing. ]]

Why Itachi/Shisui will most ALWAYS be Shisui/(Itachi/Sasuke)

itachishusbunny:

I swear I wrote up a long post in reply to a conversation I saw on my dash, but it got lost somewhere |: Way to go tumblr mobile. 

But this is with regards to Itachi/Shisui (yes, the ship! Whoo!). And before I begin, let me just say that I am not attacking anybody or their right to feel a certain way about the ship+Sasuke. This is merely my opinion on the whole thing; take it or leave it, I suppose. But perhaps this is probably geared more towards other Shisui writers/RPers who ship ShiIta/ItaShi and were/are having trouble coming to terms with having to factor Sasuke into the equation pretty much all the time. I am (was, definitely past tense since a few years ago) no exception.

I think it’s quite the normal reaction to feel that tiny punch in the gut when we sit back and realize that oh, Itachi’s most important person will always be Sasuke. Not Shisui, Sasuke. But Shisui’s most important person would still be Itachi. Of course Sasuke will always come with the package, and Shisui would always understand, but why do we allow ourselves to feel sad about it? Why do we consider it a bit of a tragedy? Just a thought.

I believe that, even in canon, Shisui recognized that the key to Itachi’s happiness was Sasuke. So much so that, while Itachi was his most important person (Sasuke was important, too, but Itachi moreso), he was not that selfish sort of person to work towards making the world better just for the one and exclude the other completely. Instead, he was willing to literally give up his life to ensure that they (Itachi and Sasuke) had a chance at happiness and in staying together as family always. Because to Shisui, while he was duty-bound to clan as well as village, he still tried finding a way to let them have both in the future. He wanted them to have each other because he understood that neither would be happy without the other. I do not believe that Shisui was aware that a massacre would be ordered so soon; I believe that he trusted Itachi to pretty much use his eye and find a bloodless solution (even if it were to be something temporary) to settle things. I could go into the details of why Shisui sacrificing himself wasn’t an act of cowardice, but that might have to be another post. 

In a perfect AU, I’d think Sasuke would always, always be a big part of the ship. I almost want to say that the ship literally cannot stand alone without Sasuke (I think so, but I’m sure most others won’t/don’t). 

But what could possibly be made different? 

Perhaps Shisui actually getting it through to Itachi that breaking away from his father would actually benefit Sasuke more than trying to shoulder everything on his own in the hopes that Fugaku would leave Sasuke alone. Perhaps Shisui would have to get it through to Itachi that what Sasuke wants is both his brother and his father, and that by not leading by example and making him see that letting go is a healthier choice, Sasuke would end up trapped in a cycle of wanting to stand on par with the one and be accepted by the other. Shisui might have to get it through to Itachi that what he’s doing would, in the long run, end in Sasuke shouldering an immense amount of guilt when he figures out the truth of it and pieces A and B together, blaming himself for what his brother had to go through. Or, if things could get worse, that guilt could turn into resentment– not only towards Fugaku, but also towards Itachi. Unnecessary negativity to pile on top of the already huge pile of crap that neither one deserves. 

Shisui would be on the outside looking in; he’d most likely see it all playing out with more clarity than either Itachi or Sasuke, and be able to observe with a certain degree of neutrality. In a perfect au, Shisui would have to be able to make Itachi understand that what he is doing to his brother would emotionally cripple him, make him dependent, and set him up for failure in the future in Itachi’s absence.

And perhaps, after YEARS, Itachi might come to finally be able to let his little brother go just a bit, and Sasuke would be strong enough to stand on his own two feet emotionally to be able to let go as well (even if only just a bit). 

I can never see Itachi/Shisui being anything without Sasuke. 

But I also understand why there’s that little tinge of upset that comes with that realization. Perhaps, as Shisui writers/RPers, we could walk in Shisui’s shoes for a bit. Would he be happy? Would he be upset that he’d have to ‘share’ Itachi? Yes to the first question, and most likely no to the second. 

Because I think Shisui is a lot more open and understanding and a good deal wiser than that. If you want a visual, think about a spirit that’s air. Think about a spirit with a heart that’s boundless and a presence that’s warmth. Shisui is like a candle– a candle’s light never fades despite how many more are lit from it. 

I think if we didn’t try to fit his relationship with Itachi into the definition of monogamy and all it’s socially moral rules, we’d be sailing smooth. They’re all full of unusual circumstances, and nothing is cut and dry. When it comes to love, both Shisui and Itachi have an endurance that’s unrivaled. It’ll always drown out the selfish aspect of it that dragged others like Madara and Obito into madness and remorseless cruelty. Perhaps Shisui was braver than Itachi in that respect– possibly because he wasn’t the heir to the clan, too. Happiness or love or what have you– to Itachi and Shisui, it need not always be romantic. Instead, it’s something that’s a lot deeper. It’s gentle and fierce at the same time, and it’s always there. Sasuke coming into the picture is pretty much a bonus, tbh. Shisui would always recognize that Sasuke is #1 when it comes to Itachi and he will not expect Itachi to make all the accommodations for him.

Because in a perfect au, both Itachi and Sasuke will be happy. And Shisui, too, by default. 

In a perfect au, we can give them what canon never could. 

In a perfect au, Shisui would live to see his dream realized.

what do you think about orochimaru basically being allowed to continue his human experiments to boruto’s era? nobody had a problem with the shin clones… sasuke didn’t have a problem with orochimaru cloning the sharingan into them??

[[ To be fair, Orochimaru isn’t responsible for the mass of tiny clones. He’s only responsible for the original Shin. Shin Sr cloned the lot of small ones which eventually turned on him. Naruto and Sasuke agreed it wasn’t really the fault of the small ones because they are children. That is why they are taken to the orphanage so Kabuto can care for them.

Orochimaru being able to live freely and with very minimal regulation is actually explained by Orochimaru himself in his novel. I’m going to add the quote. (It’s also the reason why Kabuto and Sasuke are not jailed. They are the “The World Needs Us So They Can’t Contain us” squad.

“But it is strange that you can move so freely like this,” Sasuke said, staring in the direction of the boat’s progress through the fog.

The murder of the fourth Kazekage in the operation to destroy Konoha. And Orochimaru had committed many other grave crimes in addition to this.

“Goodness. You’re one to talk, Sasuke.” Orochimaru retorted, staring at the waves blown up by the wind. And it was true. Normally, Sasuke would have also been imprisoned. “And Kabuto. He’s a war criminal fromt he Fourth Great Ninja War, and he lives in the outside world too?”

(The novel has a couple of pages of Orochimaru explaining Kabuto’s backstory, the pain he went through, his connection to Nono and Itachi, and how the chances of Kabuto turning “evil” again are slim to none.)

“Also…perhaps its insurance for those times when something nonsensical happens.”

“Insurance?”

“Every era has its dissenters. And when those dissenters show up, inhuman powers like ours are sometimes required. Because some things cannot be protected with justice alone. So taming us properly is for everyone’s sake.” Orochimaru let out a short laugh.

“What?”

“Your friend likely doesn’t have an inkling of all this in his head.”He meant Naruto.

“I guess so.”

TL;DR Kabuto, Sasuke, and Orochimaru are insanely powerful and at some point the world is going to need them. Letting them be free, keeping their skills sharp will help rather than incarcerating them. Orochimaru will offer his abilities in the time of need and as repayment the world will mostly turn a blind eye to him. It’s a mutual relationship. 

And Orochimaru is monitored, to some extent. Poor Yamato got stuck watching him for life. Orochimaru basically knows it would work against them to try to jail him, and he’s using it to his advantage. 

Note that, I’m not saying Orochimaru should be free, I’m explaining why he’s free. It would be a story arc in itself (and nearly impossible) to kill Orochimaru completely or keep him jailed. I’m also not saying he should be jailed/killed. It would be too hard. ]]

What are Itachi’s biases and how heavily do they influence his point of view and decision making?

[[ Sasuke and preventing violence (namely the battlefield he saw) are his major biases. He immediately develops a highly negative opinion of someone who he thinks is a threat to Sasuke. He’s not like…fanon type possessive or anything. But it’s canon in his novel he thought worse and worse about Fugaku since he perceived Fugaku focusing on the clan situation as not caring about Sasuke. This made him pretty bitter and it’s one of the causes of their MAJOR communication issues. Fugaku isn’t as thick-headed as Itachi thinks he is, but Itachi doesn’t allow his opinion to be changed and just stops trying to reason with his Father. 

Then there’s the battlefield. Which is leveled against him MULTIPLE times during his childhood up to the massacre.

Another negative bias is against the clan. Namely, Yashiro, Inabi, and Tekka. Itachi actually hates these men, for real, hating  Yashiro the most. The incident where they yelled at him during a clan meeting and forced him to apologize instead of reasoning with him soured him to that group and then the rest of the clan as a whole. It was hard to try to be nice to the clan when they immediately called him a traitor and screamed at him. Itachi actually ends up generalizing quite a bit haha.  ]]

Was leaving the village not an option for the Uchiha clan? Asking cause I imagine they’d be too vulnerable on their own surrounded by some allied forces while trying to find a place to settle and if they settled in another village they’d eventually end up just as they did in Konoha but I could be overlooking something.

[[ Sadly, no. Leaving the village is not an option. 

Remember Sasuke? Leaving the village without permission is immediately considered high treason. Nuke-kin are NOT treated kindly, they are immediately sought out for death. Not to mention, this would leave the Uchiha vulnerable to other people who wanted to attack them for their eyes, and I will admit Konoha’s walls kept them safe to an extent

Plus, the Uchiha couldn’t publicly argue for leaving the village. Danzo and Hiruzen are doing everything in their power to keep the situation under wraps, letting the problem be known to everyone is not on their to-do list. 

If they tried to leave the village, all of them would be immediately branded as traitors and they would be killed. ]]