writscrib:

With Net Neutrality, ISPs will rely on time and confusing language to slowly erode the internet.

But what is Net Neutrality all about? What do we stand to lose?

When the internet was first created, Net Neutrality was the unspoken standard. If you paid for internet, you could expect that you could go anywhere with the same speed. Of course, some sites were slower (bogged down with too many graphics or viruses), but for the most part, this meant that if you went to a website, it was going to load for you at a comparably similar speed to other sites like it.

Net Neutrality was penned to make this a spoken standard, as there were already providers who were determined to go against this. Most notoriously, BitTorrent was being so heavily throttled by Comcast that in some cases, it was entirely blocked. Additionally, the FCC ordered Comcast not to block certain programs (like Skype). This was because of the educational value of the internet: a vast and endless sea of information more easily accessible than any other time in human history.

The Supreme Court shot down both of these, but the FCC did not give up.

In 2010, the FCC released a set of rules that would come to be the Net Neutrality that we rely on, but with a huge caveat: while Comcast and the like could not throttle competitors, they could have multiple speed tiers set based on their own whims. This meant that mobile devices were given much slower internet speeds while being charged more for the privilege, as one example. This is important! We’ll talk about it in a later post today.

(This was done as Comcast, who owned Hulu, was attempting to throttle Netflix in an effort to make their own service look better in comparison)

In 2014, there was a belief that ‘narrowing’ Net Neutrality would be wise, and that one such allowance for businesses would be that they could charge for websites to use a “fast lane”. What this would mean is that if a site could pay the fee (unspecified), traffic to their site would be faster. Obviously not an issue for Google or Facebook, but for smaller startups it would directly impact their ability to compete. Public response was loud and critical, although in 2015 Republicans attempted to block the FCC’s ability to enforce Net Neutrality.

There’s a slew of situations where Net Neutrality was tested: Madison River Communications in 2005 blocked Vonage, AT&T warned users that wi-fi constituted as “theft of service”, Comcast blocked VPNs…all of these were things that Net Neutrality was able to squash.

Without anything to block them, you can guarantee that these same companies, now larger and more money-hungry, with more invested interest in controlling what you’re allowed to see, will try their hardest to censor and throttle the internet.

They’ll do it slowly, but they’ll still do it. Keep up the pressure on your politicians and don’t let this issue go away!

(Here’s the Wiki article: it’s a brief overview that goes into more detail than I did, with sources!)

“gOD you would likely BREAK itachi” Isn’t that the point? >:D Especially because he entrusted his brother to them. He thought he could leave, because Sasuke had better. Sasuke’s here because he thought this is what Itachi would want, because why fight a leash you’re destined to wear. “Are you proud, brother?” *rubs gremlin hands together*

[[ yesss I’m aware it’s the point  it’s such a juicy idea fkfkllkflkfl

just completely shocked that they would do something like that to sasuke, can’t see how they could process Sasuke as a threat if he came back jfjfk

I normally absolutely hate that part of filler but  i like the potential for angst more ]]

Just wanted to say a couple things; one, your Itachi is absolutely perfect and I love him, and two, I don’t have an RP blog but you’re making me regret it, because Lord Almighty do I want to hurl broken!straitjacket!Sasuke at him and see what do! (Alternatively, toss canon!Sasuke into that terrible everyonelives!AU and see how an Itachi unsullied by the massacre responds. >_>) <3

[[ kfsdklfdskdfskllkfsdl gOD you would likely BREAK itachi

to see that they jailed sasuke….and just sealed him right up
hhhhhhhhh

but thank you!! i would absolutely love anything you threw at me :3 ]]

la-rayna:

sasu–hime:

la-rayna:

Referring to Sasuke as “emo” is enough to show that you didn’t get this character or its story. 

I think he’s referred as emo in a humorous way, not as a definition for his character

I know for a fact that many people, his haters especially, refer to him as an emo in all seriousness. They think he’s making a big deal out of his clan massacre and that he should have just got over it…

Those people don’t even understand what he went through, they think having your clan massacred by your own brother and watching your own parents being killed right before your eyes are things you can easily get over. They call Sasuke’s need for revenge “acting up” all while referring to him as the ungrateful emo who rejected his kind teammates and abandoned the village that took care of him… 

… but then again, those kids didn’t get the pain of loss or the loneliness one feels after losing their loved ones; you think they’d get the need for revenge? If they couldn’t even get those then I highly doubt they got his character.

pinkonionfairy:

The “purity culture” and call out culture on this website is not about helping people or social justice and equality. Do not even for a second think that it is good or for benefitting people or out of love for individuals or groups .The people that do it are self serving and they arent doing it to help you, they are doing it for their own benefit and for themselves. By “calling someone out” or running them off the site, they hope to be worshipped like some kind of hero and thanked and get attention. They are self righteous assholes that want to be like gods and control people. They just want power and influence over others, they want to be given authority over people and they want influence over others, including you. Dont fall for it, do not participate in it. Never ever harass anyone. Do not help others bully someone. Fact check everything, always ask for sources, but know that info can be easily faked. To be honest just ignore and block people doing this. Its not worth it, you’re not helping anyone and you’re hurting people. End call out and “purity” culture. The internet is never going to be how you want it to be. 

Do people know the truth about Itachi in Boruto’s time? Cos I just read a post that said it’s unfair that Itachi is considered a hero by the village for killing innocent people, whilst Sasuke’s treated like a criminal

[[ No, actually.

They don’t know the truth. The villagers were only told that Itachi helped during the war. and by this reason alone he should be considered a good person. I will show you the snippet. I do agree– it’s unfair. The villagers don’t even get to ask how it doesn’t make sense that Itachi would suddenly turn “good”, they’re just supposed to believe Naruto at face value.

They word it like admitting the coup d’etat would somehow sully the Uchiha name, not even mentioning the fact that the village worked to get the Uchiha killed. 

Also “there was no one that doubted Naruto.” It makes literally 0 sense that Itachi, an S-rank criminal, should have his name cleared on Naruto’s word alone. So you’re telling me a mass murderer who killed all of his own family just decided to cozy up to Naruto and help during the war? But it’s Naruto who’s saying it, why doubt him?? kljsdfklflkfll. 

Itachi didn’t want any sort of pardon. It’s Sasuke who deserved a much better pardon instead.

But we can’t have anything coming out that makes the village look bad. ]]