sindri42:

thespectacularspider-girl:

burningmanonacid:

gservator:

Idiot: Why does fantasy need homophobia, racism and sexism?!

Me: Because you need someone to oppose? Not to mention if you are an evil character then be evil.

Okay im reblogging this because I didn’t want the chain but like… racism… is… definitely a prevalent thing amongst like all cultures everywhere. Every culture, even subconsciously, is a bit racist because stereotypes are a thing and very pervasive. To make a world realistic there is going to be racism. There is likely going to be sexism somewhere too. Not every culture is blatantly super racist or anything. And it’s definitely not always structural either, but it’ll probably be there unless they’re a super well socialized people with everyone around them.

It’s realism. Of course it’s boring to base an entire story around it, but having it present is part of world building. Also if a story makes you hate one of the characters for who they are or what they believe… good… thats how you’re SUPPOSED to feel reading it.

Also a racist/homophobic/sexist player character can… evolve?  It can create a good arc for said character?

For fuck’s sake GARRUS had shades of this in Mass Effect 1 and he evolved out of it.  Or you see it in Klingons in Star Trek.  Or Paladin Danse in Fallout 4?

Like, all these characters can start out bigoted and it can be a good thing for the story.

Not to mention that the difficulties presented specifically by discrimination are kinda core to the experience of many fictional groups. Look at Fallout, now take away all the prejudice against ghouls and what do you get? A superhuman race that trades hair for immortality, immunity to environmental hazards, and regeneration. Look at almost any D&D setting, take away all the prejudice both against and by the orcs, and they’re just like humanity except stronger, tougher, and more numerous. Look at Mass Effect, take away the prejudice surrounding the Quarians, and the entire fascinating culture of the Migrant Fleet collapses (not to mention every part of the story relating to the Geth in any way).

The point of fiction is not to create a utopia that doesn’t exist and does nothing for the real world. The primary purpose of fiction is to tell an interesting story, interesting stories require conflict, and the majority of conflict in our world is the product of misunderstanding or prejudice.

The secondary purpose of fiction is to simulate serious issues, whether real-world or hypothetical, and propose solutions which do not negatively impact real people if they would fail, thereby spreading ideas about potential ways to improve life for real people.

That said, you totally can remove the aspects of real world prejudice which you don’t like or don’t make sense for the setting. Transphobia would be pretty damn rare in D&D for example, because there’s magic that makes a flawless, instant transition pretty easy. And Mass Effect is pretty much free of homophobia (in-setting anyway, not time to talk about the voice actors…) because the Alliance is an extrapolation of human culture a couple hundred years forward and we’re rapidly removing all the remaining homophobia in our culture today.

roleplay-salt:

“Why are roleplay icons getting smaller and smaller? 100×100 used to be the standard. Now, I can barely see what the icons are trying to portray, which really just defeats the purpose of using them in the first place. If the icon is more border and filter than it is image, then what’s the point? Aesthetics and edits are nice, until they start getting in the way.“

lethal-cuddles:

The idea that adults shouldn’t be allowed in fandom spaces and that it’s inherently creepy for them to be involved in fandoms at all is one that needs to die.

You’re never too old to be a fan of something, you’re never too old to participate in fandoms, and you are not obligated to stop participating in said fandoms once you reach some arbitrary age that fandom newcomers has somehow decided is the age limit for participating in fandoms.

This is especially aggravating for fandoms based on established franchises that are decades old. Voltron (34 years, 37 if you count GoLion), Star Trek (52 years), Star Wars (41 years), Doctor Who (55 years), these fandoms have been around for a long, long time. Who do you think started these fandoms in the first place?

It’s absolutely mindblowing to me that there seems to be this huge push to force “old people” out of fandoms, especially when they have been participating in said fandom for longer than the people trying to push them out. 

I’ve even been seeing this with newer fandoms, like Danny Phantom (14 years), Harry Potter (21 years) and Sonic the Hedgehog (27 years). Most of the adults in these fandoms grew up with those respective franchises, and they shouldn’t be expected to just drop them like a rock the second they become “too old”.

Even if adults are joining new fandoms… so what? There is no maximum age limit on being a fan of something. Who are you to decide who is and isn’t allowed to participate in a fandom?

uchihacollector:

goddamnitlady:

SMALL TEXT.    FORMATTING.     It messes with my dyslexia, my reading-aid software, and my eyes. Do you like small text? Please make the text on your own blog’s theme smaller, but leave my dashboard alone. 

This debate is more than a “lol unfollow then” creator/consumer give-and-take. It’s also about excluding me based on a disability. It sucks that our social interactions are valued as less important than your stupid font size. It just hurts, you know? I never chose my disabilities, but you can choose. Please choose to include me. Choose kindness. PLEASE KEEP TUMBLR’S NORMAL FONT. 

nikkkxb replied to your photo: “SMALL TEXT…”

Lady, you should reblog this on your roleplay blog. It’s disgusting that a community that’s all about “inclusiveness” ignores such a blatant thing. I mean, is that not ableism?

roleplay-salt:

“Guess what, people? There is such a thing as too much formatting. If you’re spending five minutes every post putting ten spaces between each word, bolding and capitalizing every other letter, putting spaces between letters even, then you’ve got a problem. It’s not pretty. It’s not impressive. It’s obnoxious and hard to read, especially if it’s in double small or triple small. If people have to squint at your post to read it or if people with visual issues can’t, then you’re the problem. Also this has never not been true for me, but those who do have obnoxious formatting are seldom very good writers, which makes sense if you’re putting more thought into how the words LOOK instead of what they MEAN.“

friendly reminder that falsely reporting people for crimes because you dont like their ship can lead to a fine/probation time because it counts as slander, even if you’re a minor. Hope no one decides to press charges.

sayaka-against-onision:

tenaflyviper:

for-submissions:

except im not falsely accusing them, drawn child porn is still child porn

Not once have I seen anything an anti claimed to be “child porn” that actually fit that description.  I have also never seen an anti on this site whose concerns about alleged “pedophilia” don’t strictly begin and end with cartoon shipping (showing that you don’t truly care about the issue of pedophilia, and are only concerned with others having different fictional ships, which is something that anyone can completely avoid with the default tools given to you on this site).

When Samurai Jack ended up with Aku’s daughter, people called it “pedophilia”, in spite of both characters being fully-grown adults.  Why?  Because Jack was mentally decades older due to the time portal messing with the aging process, even though he looked exactly the same.

People who ship Shiro and Keith from Voltron continue to be accused of being “pedophiles”, even though both characters are–again–canonically adults.

When people drew pin-up art of the Wendy’s mascot, people called it “pedophilia”, even though artists were clearly drawing a fully-grown adult woman, which the REAL Wendy Thomas IS.

I have even seen antis on this site refer to an 18-year-old dating a 16-year-old as “pedophilia”, even though both could be students at the same school, and even though such a couple is 100% fully legal (16 is the legal age for consent in America, but if you went beyond your own ethnocentric views on this issue, you’d find that other countries have it as low as 14, with younger teens given many more responsibilities.  In Germany, 16-year-olds are even able to vote).

What you are referring to as “drawn child porn” is people making fan art of fictional characters that are usually at least in their teensThe overwhelming majority of the people creating this fan art are young women and teenage girls that are using fan works as a means to explore their sexuality in a way that they don’t feel physically pressured, threatened, or intimidated.

Allow me to give you the real definition–from
18 U.S. Code § 2256–when we’re talking about artwork:

“The
term “indistinguishable” used with respect to a depiction, means
virtually indistinguishable, in that the depiction is such that an
ordinary person viewing the depiction would conclude that the depiction
is of an actual minor engaged in sexually explicit conduct. This definition does not apply to depictions that are drawings, cartoons, sculptures, or paintings depicting minors or adults.”

And don’t bother citing the PROTECT Act, because that was deemed unconstitutional on a federal level as of United States vs Handley, which is the
ONLY CASE THAT WE KNOW OF that was based completely on drawn material of fictional characters, without any discovery of other types of material in the possession of the accused:

“Last year, the Supreme Court declared unconstitutional a
federal law that criminalized the possession of “virtual” child pornography,
i.e., materials whose production may not have involved the use of real
children.”

You are a 15-year-old that hasn’t been on the internet for very long.  People have been sexualizing cartoons in general for nearly a century, and few people have had any issue with this, due to cartoons typically having proportions that don’t resemble those of actual human beings.  Especially when we’re talking about anime or anime-influenced artwork, even art books on drawing manga talk about the interchangeability of faces between age, and even gender.

I found your blog because someone screencapped you falsely accusing them of pedophilia, and it came across my dash.  For the record, staff WILL delete entire accounts over false accusations of pedophilia, as is what happened to “bipolaramyrose" (the url has since been claimed by some kind of foreign bot).

TL;DR: You are abusing the term “pedophilia” where it does not apply.  When you misuse serious terms in this way, it actually HARMS REAL VICTIMS (which include myself, by the way) by making it harder for their legitimate claims to be taken seriously.

The people you’re falsely accusing have a right to know where and what this “list” is that you’ve allegedly added them to (I’m going to guess that this is the site you used).  Especially if it goes beyond tumblr, you could very well face serious legal repercussions for your actions.  I can assure you that being a minor will NOT excuse you from facing those consequences.

Just in: making false accusations against someone and possibly ruining their life is fine because of reasons 🙂

patrexes:

patrexes:

you’re not owed disclosure of csa or incest survivor status because someone reads thorki or wincest or whatever and you don’t like it

i’m not trying to defend myself here btw. i blacklist canonically abusive ships like rhack & samifer, and incestuous ships like the above before i ever touch a fic archive, actually. this is just something i feel strongly about as a victim of incestuous rape; i’m really sick of my existence being weaponized by the ~last line of defense against evil, evil fiction~.

some people who read (or write) Bad Ships are using it to relate to their own life experiences; some people who read (or write) Bad Ships are interested in the narrative—with either the plot seeming interesting in spite of the ship, or maybe they’re interested in how the relationship is approached and plays out; some people who read (or write) Bad Ships are doing it because they think it’s hot.

surviviors exist in every category listed, and no one is ever obligated to tell you their tragic backstory to be ~allowed~ to read something that’s perfectly legal. and if someone isn’t a survivor, but they still read fic like this for whatever reason? cool! i’m glad they don’t have that trauma, personally.

it’s not your job or my job or anyone’s job to police the themes in the books or fic that people read, and reading something doesn’t mean endorsing it; even if it did, there’s a huge difference between what is overwhelmingly consensual late-teenage or adult sibling incest with no traditional victim to speak of, and, say, my own experiences being raped as a preschooler by the person who was supposed to protect me. somebody reading the first doesn’t mean they think the second was okay or that i deserved it.

incest fic is not incest apologism.

yoonbum-in-drag:

Listen, if you’re someone who believes fictional ships can normalize rape, abuse, murder, child molestation, etc. – then you’re also categorized alongside people who: 

  • believe videogames normalize and make human beings go out and murder people and commit violence acts, 
  • those who believe fantasy games and stories create devil worshippers
  • that heavy metal music and rock music create satanic lesbians, violent criminals 
  • who believe stories involving homosexual/nonstraight characters “make/turn” their children into “fags, queers, sinful homosexuals”

If you believe fictional ships and stories have that heavy of an impact on society, then you automatically believe all that other shit I listed above.

So, congrats.

roleplay-salt:

“A word for those talking about “grooming” and this goddamned writing shit: You have no idea what grooming is, do you? Pedophiles don’t fucking use that sort of writing for grooming. They use the kid’s favorite item, food, or cartoon characters to groom. Sometimes they even take the whole “meaning of friendship” and use that. Y’all are fucking disgusting by trying to police this shit while not knowing shit. Fucking do your homework, people. Writing about something doesn’t mean you condone it, either.“

RE: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15