Your RP partner is not an object. Your RP Partner is a person. They have thoughts, feelings, down days, real life troubles and time constraints, finicky muses, and other priorities. They do not exist to cater to your needs.
RPing is about having fun for everyone involved, not just one person. Your RP relationships are actual relationships with actual human beings. Because of this, however, there are also abusive RP partnership behaviors to be aware of:
Objectifying/Manipulative RP Behaviors
1. Being possessive about who a partner can and cannot rp with.
2. Demanding replies (if a partner gives you nothing, just move along, don’t harass people. NO ONE owes you ANYTHING EVER).
3. Posting passive-aggressive ooc posts or sending passive-aggressive or trolling anons in an attempt to manipulate a partner into RPing with you or reacting in certain ways.
4. Ignoring or blatantly disregarding a partner’s stated rules, triggers, or boundaries.
5. Minimizing your partner’s real life circumstances (real life ALWAYS take precedence over RP).Do not be a manipulative, abusive, or objectifying RP partner. Your RP partners are people as well, and that must ALWAYS be respected. If you are unhappy with your relationship arrangements, discuss it one on one, not anonymously, and communicate. If there is no way to come to a solution, then decide to go your separate ways.
Treat one another with respect and dignity please.
Tag: rp tools
if you’re offline or away and i message you something (like a link to a meme or a picture or w/e) honestly just assume that i’m just leaving it there for when you get back and not expecting you to answer straight away. i don’t need you to respond with “hey, sorry, i wasn’t at the computer!” or anything. i was leaving u a gift for later.
I do this all the time on Discord. I’m not expecting a response, I’m just sharing a thing for whenever you happen to see it.
I regularly send my friends memes when I know they’re asleep because I know
they will wake
and then
they will scream
[[ Things People Need To Learn:
1) There are people who you RP with, and are buddies with, who RP with people you don’t like. This is how it works. Learn to block and/or blacklist if you really don’t want to see the person that much.
2) The moment you harass/bully someone (on anon, no less!!) because of them RPing with the person you don’t like, and in an attempt to stop them, you’re an asshole. ]]
some old but still radical fandom terms to bring the heck back
the following are concepts that i quickly learned my way around when growing up in fandom, but that seem to have fallen out of use recently. i’d like to propose a revival of…
- NOTP: a pairing that, for whatever reason, you simply cannot stand. it can be because the ship repulses you morally, or because you hate one of the characters, or love them both but despise their dynamic – or just because looking at it makes you uncomfortable, for whatever reason.
- different from labeling something a “bad ship” in that it implies an entirely personal preference.
- calling a ship your NOTP informs others that you really, really, REALLY dislike it, while also acknowledging that you don’t know what other people’s reasons are for shipping it, or what interpretations they may have that makes it work for them.
- a cool way of avoiding stuff you hate while also not morally condemning thousands of complete strangers for liking it.
- squick: similar to notp, but goes for anything, not just romantic pairings. something you just don’t like, either for specific reasons or just because it irrationally repulses you.
- not as severe as a trigger in the sense that it doesn’t cause any extreme and potentially harmful reactions – it’s just something you’d rather not see, because it grosses you the fuck out. and that’s okay.
- decent people respect other people’s squicks, while also remembering it’s cool for other people to like things they personally are squicked by.
- this works as long as everyone agrees not to be dicks and shove stuff in people’s faces in unwarranted ways.
- crackship: a ship that just doesn’t make any sense. there’s absolutely no chance that these characters would ever end up together.
- perhaps they’ve never interacted. perhaps they are on opposite sides of a war. perhaps one of them died a thousand years ago. for whatever reason, there’s zero possibility of this becoming canon.
- still, you’d like to see how they’d romantically mesh, to explore their dynamic or a what-if scenario – or maybe they’re just two characters you really like to imagine smooching one another.
- the fact that it isn’t and never will be canon doesn’t matter, and can even be part of the appeal. it certainly does not invalidate the ship’s existence. the ultimate form of doing something just for fun.
these words all help describe the cool concept of doing stuff you enjoy, while also realizing others may be doing things you hate, but not in order to victimize you personally. live and let live! give people the benefit of the doubt! it’s a good time. we should all try it.
And on the subject of fandom because a bee has made a permanent home in my bonnet over this nonsense—
I’m not saying that people aren’t allowed to be uncomfortable with certain content, because you are. Or that you’re not allowed to be critical of certain content, because you can be.
But there is a major disconnect between what actual media criticism is/should be and what is going on in fandom (particularly tumblr fandom) lately. Media criticism means actually looking at the media in question and asking what it means, where it came from, why the author may have written it, what message it sends, and discussing different interpretations to all of these questions. It is, and should be, thoughtful with understanding the media and why it was written and why it is being read being the main goal.
Telling authors to kill themselves is not media criticism. Lying and distorting reality and provable facts about how media affects reality is not media criticism. Running hate blogs and harassment campaigns are not media criticism. It’s cyberbullying.
What’s going on in fandom is, very clearly to me, not about understanding media or trends in media or understanding other people and certainly not about protecting anyone much less abuse survivors. It’s about hurting other people in order to feel better about yourself, holding up attacks on fictional content and the people who consume it as the Ultimate Pinnacle of Social Justice, and being as horrible as you can to people who ship the ‘wrong things’ in order to get as many Woke Points as possible. It’s about how absolutely telling it is that the targets of these attacks are almost always fan creators and little known original content creators rather than popular published authors who create the exact same kind of content and the absolute hypocrisy in the people who are take part in this culture which is shown from the fact that they can easily say “fiction doesn’t exist in a vacuum uwu” but make no mention of the fact that neither does their suicide-baiting to the fact that there are multiple examples of these people not practicing what they preach (see: anti/s who are now getting into the Devilman fandom which is a media where a teenager is literally shipped with the actual devil and contains every kind of Problematic thing you can name, anti/s who are against ~toxic~ ships like re/ylo while they themselves ship things like ky/lux, anti/s who love to go on and on about how fanfic normalizes abuse but can’t comprehend that creating an entire culture of cyberbullying is much more likely to do that, etc etc etc).
It’s all just toxic and incredibly performative and, ultimately, useless as it offers absolutely no value or anything of any worth to fandom or the world.
Not supporting that should not be controversial. Statements like “real people are more important than fictional characters” and “telling people to kill themselves over the fanfic they read is a bad thing to do” should not be controversial. CSA survivors saying “someone shipping two adult cartoon characters isn’t as bad as what happened to me” should not be controversial, should not get them branded as being pedophiles themselves or pedophile apologists.
And yet, here we are.
The entire ant/i movement in fandom is not about protecting abuse survivors, it is not about protecting people from content they find triggering, it has no goal to it whatsoever other than to hurt as many people as possible because hurting people is the Cool New Trend to take part in and doing it under the (very thin) guise of “uwu we just want to protect people from pedophiles” allows them to tell themselves that what they’re doing is okay while making people who haven’t taken more than 2 minutes to look into this diskorse think that it’s a legit movement (nevermind the fact that in ant/i speak a “pedophile” is rarely ever actually a pedophile and can be anything from a person who ships a 25 year old character with a 30 year old to someone who ships two adult characters with a height different to a 15 year old fan who ships characters who are their own age). It’s a cesspit built on horrible critical thinking skills, a denial of actual provable facts (see: ~fiction has a 1:1 efect on reality~ which has been disproved, constantly, just go ask Tipper Gore), and people who are incapable/unwilling to have a genuine debate over any of the topics frequently brought up in this diskorse because reasonable conversation just doesn’t give them that Self-Righteous High the way that sending 100 messages to someone telling them to pee themselves does.
It isn’t about social justice. It isn’t about media criticism. It isn’t about listening to abuse survivors as anti/s frequently ignore any abuse survivor who doesn’t completely agree with them. It’s about cyberbullying and using these things as a mask to justify it. The people who take part in it are no different than the children in middle school who bully other kids in the halls, except that ant/is would never try to bully anyone in real life because then they might actually have to face consequences for their behavior.
The longer this goes on and the more ‘discourse’ I see, the more I get the same impression.

“Let people write whatever the fuck they want. Just because they write it doesn’t mean they condone it. Besides, Tumblr calls everything pedophilia. And the funny thing is… No one gives actually gives shit so long as the muses look older. Take my muse for example. fifteen years old in his manga, falls in love with a woman in her thirties who also falls for him. Yet I see no one screaming pedophilia there? Oh right, because he looks muscular, right? Fiction =/= reality or condoning. Learn that, you idiots.”
A much-needed critical post about fandom shaming. (Incest. Gore. Rape. Etc.)
Stories and artwork explore alternative modes of being in the world. Stories open up a space to be someone else than you for a while. This goes for both producers or consumers of narrative media.
The institutionalized politics/religion/markets spread norms the people must adhere to. If you don’t adhere to them, you get thrown in jail, be called a heretic, do not get money.
Stories explore alternative modes of existing. They answer the “what if x was different” questions. Stories about of taboo topics challenge and explore the real-world norms most intensely. Thus, transgressive fiction is VITAL for critical thinking about society and the norms that are placed on us.
Dark themes are often narrative dramatisation, NOT appropriation.
Forbidding/shaming/bullying people to ‘correct’ them, is counterproductive. It only suppress the production of the result of their feelings. It does not attack the source where those feelings come from. It does not teach people how to handle those feelings.
The primary function of art is to explore outside the norm. Narrative art/stories are vital to make sense of the world.
Perhaps the transformative side of fandom is not for you, and you should change your media consumption. You are responsible for what you consume. Do not ‘correct’ producers. Don’t mask your discomfort with contempt.
[[ Big Ass Red Flag:
If your partners are trying to force you to not RP with a certain person/people, hightail it out of there. These are people with black/white world views.
Roleplaying with someone is not conducive to believing/agreeing with everything the roleplayer does. That’s not how it works.
Someone RPing with someone you aren’t fond of is also not your green light to jump into their IM/ask and involve them in your personal beef with said RPer. Learn to leave shit alone, let your partners make their own decisions, stop trying to control people and involve them in your personal beef.
Some people just want to write and not give a shit, and it’s well within their right to. If you believe this means they’re against you/are siding with other people in your own personal vendetta, that’s your own dumbass problem.]]
[[ OC Ideas I rarely see implemented:
Members of Well And Alive clans…
Sarutobi
Yamanaka
Yuuhi
Hyuuga (Branch and Main)
Inuzuka
Aburame
Nara
Akimichi
(I probably did forget a few)
You Don’t Always Have to Have A Clan, non-clan shinobi Exist (Gai/Tenten/Sakura/Lee,etc)
The Are Other Nations Beside Konoha, like…
Kirigakure
Iwagakure
Sunagakure
Kumogakure
Need a traumatizing backstory? Try…
Survivors/Prisoners of the experiments Orochimaru was working on underneath Konoha before his discovery and escape.
While we’re at it, previous prisoners of Orochimaru’s bases when Suigetsu was instructed to free them. Maybe a lab tech who took their chance once it was discovered Orochimaru was dead, etc.
All OCs that work with the canon timeline as opposed to altering it. ]]

Your vocabulary is astonishing, but I’d rather you added actual details and substance.“rose petals parted to let through a suave music, a sound that expanded gloriously in the void, bringing life to the dead silence.” is an interesting way to write “he said hi”,but you’re just wasting pseudo-deep sentences without having anything to communicate and, ironically, you’re not providing any real detail. A similar language can convey powerful messages and emotions, but this? This just a fancy nothing.