[[ dear everyone:

please use regular font size when typing up posts/promos. I just saw a promo and I swear the font size was for ants. I am not an ant, I’m someone who would like to be able to read. If I have to put in more effort for your writing to be legible, you’re doing it wrong. ]]

for people who are not involved in the fandom discourse

freedom-of-fanfic:

zorilleerrant:

incest’ means people exploring any depiction of fictional characters who are related or ‘family coded’ in any type of romantic or sexual situation, whether the depiction is positive or negative, regardless of whether they are depicted as related in the fanwork, regardless of rating, tags, or warnings

pedophilia’ means people exploring any depiction of fictional characters who are under the age of twenty in the main canon, in any type of romantic or sexual situation, regardless of how old they are in the fanwork, whether the depiction is positive or negative, regardless of how small the age gap is (including no age gap, if the artist is over twenty), regardless of rating, tags, or warnings

abuse’ means people exploring any depiction of fictional characters who have a less than 100% healthy and friendly relationship in canon, including those characters who only have a difficult or unhealthy relationship in extended materials, headcanons, or popular fanon, in any type of romantic or sexual situation, whether the depiction is positive or negative, regardless of whether the relationship is depicted as healthy and having a healthy history in the fanwork, regardless of rating, tags, or warnings

objectification/fetishization’ means people exploring any depiction of fictional characters who are part of any marginalized identity the artist is not also part of, or who can be confused with an outside group due to their stances or opinions, regardless of whether they’re deconstructing or exploring the canon, or why they’re choosing to depict this particular character or ship, regardless of whether they’re depicting problematic elements in a positive or negative way, regardless of rating, tags, or warnings

Please don’t read these words and assume they’re being applied to real life situations, or that they’re strictly about works that present these things as positive, or that they’re strictly about works presented in areas that are intended for children. If you see the word ‘anti’ in someone’s name or blog description, please be aware that they’re part of a pro-censorship movement that frequently involves suicide baiting, threats, harassment, sexual harassment, and even doxxing and making false police reports.

If a blog identifies itself as ‘anti-[x]’, this is how they misuse loaded terms like ‘pedophilia’, ‘incest’ and ‘abuse’ specifically to deceive you.

and repeated for emphasis from the above PSA: 

please be aware that they’re part of a pro-censorship movement that frequently involves suicide baiting, threats, harassment, sexual harassment, and even doxxing and making false police reports.

tenaflyviper:

People on this site are just…disturbing when it comes to fiction in general.  They literally want everything to be perfect, happy sunshine and roses (probably because so many of them are living vicariously through fiction as a substitute for reality, and thus can’t help projecting themselves into it).  That’s just…not how fiction works.  That’s the most boring shit–who honestly wants to read that???  We NEED strife in fiction, as there is strife in reality.  Characters NEED obstacles to overcome.  A story NEEDS a conflict to actually be a story.  If all you ever read is the kind of Mary Sue crap where everyone gets along, you’re going to be the most boring, sheltered motherfucker, and have no idea what to do when you get out into the real world.

Villains need to be allowed to be villains.

Characters need to be allowed to have bad things happen to them, even if they’re the “good guys”.

Fiction needs “bad” things, because it helps us deal with the bad things.

vampirequeenoffan:

This is about some Specific Things but honestly? Callout culture is toxic to all involved. Misinformation and rumors spread faster than the truth can hope to catch up to, and people focus on feeling like they’ve defeated someone rather than talking to that person about why their views differ from their own. I won’t lie, I’m an argumentative person, and I know it feels good to feel like you’ve put someone in their place. But just because something feels good doesn’t mean it’s the right thing to do.

Don’t like that ship? That’s fine, you don’t have to look at it. Drawings of eye trauma squick you out? Block that shit! And if someone isn’t tagging something you need tagged, then ask them to or just straight-up block their content.

But people are allowed to make things that you personally do not enjoy. That doesn’t make them bad people. That makes them people with different likes and dislikes.

Psa from someone who studied both Sexology and Psychology about rape and triggering roleplays.

maryvanderwood-3rd:

colorfully-ms-g:

catvclasms:

legendiism :

prxcasis:

Alright, it’s nearly two am and I’m not native english so bare with me for this.

First and foremost, roleplaying rape or triggering topics does not make anyone a sickfuck or someone who condone the themes in real life.

I went to university for four years and studied sexology, which is a program offered here in Quebec, Canada. I learned many things about the human psyche as well as sexuality in general. I also have a minor in psychology and am currently studying to become an author. Because I have many interest, yes, I have spent many years in school for. And all of my programs and studies can relate to this.

Some humans are interested in taboo and triggering topics because it pushes the limits of the human psyche. Some people are interested to see what would happen if their characters would be pushed in the most extreme situations. Whether they are playing a victim or an abuser does not matter. For someone like me, who roleplay as both, I can tell you that I like, revel even in the despair of my muses when they’re victims of something. And as someone who roleplays a villain, I like to explore the darkest part of the human mind that pushes someone to the most heinous acts possible.

There is nothing sick about this. It’s in human nature to be curious and it’s actually completely healthy to explore those topics. My studies in sexology made me learn that having phantasms, however perverted they are, as long as they remain in a fantasy setting, there is nothing wrong about it. As a writer, I can also tell you that the dichotomy between author and muse is INCREDIBLE. If you roleplay a self insert, it might be different, but when you roleplay a muse that is apart from yourself, then it automatically becomes FANTASY. You wouldn’t tell the actor that roleplayed Hitler in the movie “The Fall” that he’s encouraging nazism by playing the role of the leader of them, so why would you tell an author that they’re condoning rape or triggering topics by writing them? Did you ever read an horror book? A suspense with lots of murders and crimes? What about jigsaw? Or even the human centipede? You cannot judge of the weight of a crime that happens in fiction the same way you would a crime in reality. The author knows that. The author isn’t their character. Stop associating the two and shaming people for what they want to write.

Some people wants some vanilla fluff ponies rainbows and flowers, some wants blood gore guts and vile, unfathomable things. Both are healthy outlets. Neither are sick.

As someone who studied psychology, sexology and is currently completing literature studies, I am disgusted that such things are still shamed among the roleplaying community. There are tags you all can block to not see those triggering topics, but you have no right as an author to call out someone who writes about heavy topics because you think it’s wrong. You are no professional critique neither are you a psychanalist. You are a fucking tumblr roleplayer for christ sake.

Block the tags. Shove your disgusting shaming up your ass without lube.

Thank you. 

As someone with a bachelor’s in psychology and is planning on receiving a doctorate in clinical psychology, I can also confirm this.

@… god damn it Shiro what is your name right now?

ALL OF THIS OMFG @bizarrolord @educating-antis @only-on-tomblr @antiantis-saltmine @any other anti-anti blog

BUT ESPECIALLY @ANTIS

nenilein:

I really hate it when people confuse the terms “Canon”, “Headcanon” and “Alternate Universe”. 

“Canon”: Something that has been outright been stated in canon outside of a joke, in a way that unambiguously means this exact thing and nothing else.

“Headcanon”: It was never unambiguously specified in canon, but I interpret this on my own in a way that goes along with canon without contradicting it

“Alternate Universe”: My game, my rules. 

They are not interchangeable terms.