things that are okay: using ‘said’ as a dialog tag. using ‘ask’ as a dialog tag. there’s beauty in plain, unobstructed english. your writing doesn’t need to be flowery in order to be elegant – elegance can rise from the construction of a sentence and everything leading into and following that sentence. i find that smaller words often have more of an impact on writing. you can make a sentence feel like a punch. you can make a sentence’s weight feel like it’s slowly sinking into your bones.
i always think of that c.s. lewis quote: “don’t use words too big for the subject. don’t say ‘infinitely’ when you mean ‘very’; otherwise you’ll have no word left when you want to talk about something really infinite.”
Please keep in mind that, however hard my muse may argue something or however confidently they make a statement, they can be wrong. It’s my muse’s opinion, and my muse talking, and their perception is skewed. Do not feel like everything out of my character’s mouth is the truth, or that I’m godmodding.
I’m not sure if Anti’s can comprehend this, but if you happen to call people “delusional”, claim they have mental issues, are bad people, or whine like little bitches when someone likes a show, characters, or a ship you don’t like, you don’t have the “Moral High Ground” and are massive cunts.
[[ Okay, time for the long post, RE: “I don’t like the thing” or what it actually is “Don’t dehumanize other people for fictitious relationships or plots.”
This is such a stupid problem but some people have to feel like they’re on a moral high ground I guess, and almost always these people have some sort of exception or something else that can be deemed “troublesome” but it’s ok when they do it. (IE theyre just hypocrites and don’t wanna admit they just don’t like someone, they have to have some blessed reason for it.)
Are you allowed to not like things? Absolutely. Everyone has their limits. Everyone has those few things they cannot accept to look at, to see played out, or god forbid to write it themselves. And that’s acceptable. I will always 100% respect a person’s desire to not see the thing. For about 1.5 years, maybe more, I’ve stated directly in my guidelines the ~troublesome~ thing I ship. It’s right there, for someone to decide before even following or shooting me a message, I don’t like the thing so maybe it’s best we not talk.
However, all my respect is lost the moment you directly or indirectly call the people who enjoy or consume this type of fiction disgusting, or less than human in some manner.
Now you are the problem. Because instead of relaying an otherwise well justified request to avoid the content, you’ve gone and personally attacked a group of people, over fiction no less. Once you’ve gone into personal attack mode, you forfeit your earlier point.
If we pretend that the consensus of “writing = condoning” is true, lots of things would be immediately under fire. Millions of books spanning from very far back in time. Movies, video games, etc. Fiction has included icky content since the beginning of time, and the very few people who cannot tell reality from fiction do so because of other underlying issues, not because the fiction exists.
People write “bad” things for a variety of reasons. The majority being actual survivors of the event finding a way to cope with fiction. There’s a good number who may not even realize they’ve been abused until the fiction is there to let them play it out in a safer manner and deal with it. There’s even a group who cannot produce the content on their own, and rely on non-survivors to produce it.
It is fictitious. No real people are being harmed. And just because you had a less than pleasant reaction to x/y/z content, doesn’t mean the content nor its producers are disgusting as a whole. Learn to utilize blacklists, or outright blocking people. When you call people gross, all it serves to do is to tell them they’re wrong for having been hurt or trying to find ways to deal with. It harms victims more than people claim it protects them.
I will respect your right to avoid content you dislike as long as you respect my existence as a human being. ]]
Just because I’m not replying to our thread, or your starter doesn’t mean I don’t want to roleplay with you. I’m just slow. Somedays I can write a fucking book, somedays I can’t even write my own name. It’s in the drafts I promise I am just slow as hell.
you can’t demand people tell you why or when they unfollow
to elaborate, this is a now a very common trend on tumblr to demand people tell you why they unfollow. and it seems very transparent that it is about
discouraging from people unfollowing them because no one wants a confrontation, and there fore will continue to follow
someone says something that made you uncomfortable, is posting something triggering, and you are demanding that they explain what you did wrong, which isnt on anyone but you
i understand that it hurts to lose followers, especially mutuals but to demand that people tell you as if they are breaking some kind of sacred blood oath is domineering and manipulative
Please for the love of all that is holy DO NOT USE THIS TO PERSONALIZE YOUR TUMBLR. It’s covered in adware and every single time I click onto someone’s tumblr who has it I have to run my spybot and then it catches a bunch of stuff and in one case one of these addresses downloaded an adware program onto my computer that prevented me from hitting back on my browser and had loud popup ads now and then and annoying blue hyperlinks everywhere. It took several hours of my time to remove the darn thing from my computer completely.
“But I can have a cool personalized name with .co .vu!” Yeah, you know why? Because most people don’t use it so names aren’t taken. Why?
Because it’s covered in adware and spyware.
If you respect your followers AT ALL do not use this. Please.
This is actually a really fascinating scam.
So, you know how how “co.[country abbreviation]” is commonly used to signify that a site is from some country? For example, “amazon.co.jp” is the Japanese version of Amazon dot com.
The people selling “co.vu” sites want you to think that that’s what’s going on–that you’re getting nice good web addresses from Vanuatu.
But what’s actually happening is that they publish your sites as a subdomain of a site called “co” that is in Vanuatu.
In other words:
In the url “http://amielleon.tumblr.com”, “amielleon” is the subdomain, “tumblr” is the actual site, and “com” tells me that it’s a commercial site and probably from America.
In the url “http://mytrashyotp.co.vu”, “mytrashyotp” is the subdomain, “co” is the actual site, and “vu” indicates it’s from Vanuatu. But they WANT you to think that “mytrashyotp” is the site, and “co.vu” indicates that it’s a commercial site from Vanuatu.
What are they getting out of this? The ability to throw shit on top of your blog (like adware) and also leech off your content for search engine rankings.
(Source: I based this post off of this blog post which is somewhat more technical in nature.)
Guys this is actually true ;;; it’s been happening to me quite a lot and I’ve had so many pop ups and ads everywhere. I get programs that I’ve never installed plus it can cause real harm to your PC. I seriously suggest to not use a co.vu domain for the sake of your mutuals & followers !!!
general psa that i will NEVER be upset with you for taking forever/never answering something i send you
we all have lives outside of this and muses are fickle like, i get it and i never want anyone to be afraid that i’d hold it against them like if i send you a meme and you’re not feeling it? you don’t need to answer it
if we plot something and i make a starter and you’re not feeling it anymore? that’s okay too. even if halfway through a thread it feels like it’s going nowhere so you wanna drop it? that’s 100% okay
honestly? you don’t even need to let me know you’re dropping something/not answering something like im not here to pressure you or bug you about replies and i don’t care if you’re actively writing with other people or anything, like if you’re not interested in writing something with me i won’t take it personally
and even if you don’t want to drop something and take literal months to answer? that’s chill like me too okay
and all i ask is that you extend the same courtesy to me ❤